Home > About > NCAA

USA Collegiate Sand Volleyball

NCAA - National Collegiate Athletic Association

Sand volleyball is recognized by NCAA Division I and II schools as an emerging sport for women, effective August 2010 for Division II and effective August 2011 for Division I.

Beach volleyball has been an Olympic Sport since 1996. In January 2007, USA Volleyball, the national governing body, restructured to adjust to the emergence of sand volleyball as a discipline with equivalent stature to the indoor game.

There have been professional opportunities for women in beach volleyball in the United States for more than 20 years. The number of ranked females on the AVP circuit grew by 24.4 percent due mainly to an increase in junior girls and women ages 16-22. In August 2008, beach volleyball was featured as part of NBC’s prime-time coverage of the Beijing Olympic Games and, due in part to the remarkable success of the American women’s and men’s teams, received more hours of airtime than any other sport. In the last London Olympic Games, USA teams dominated the sand courts by having Misty May-Treanor and Kerry Walsh Jennings securing their Third-Straight Gold Medal, and by Kessy and Ross earning their first silver medal.

Collegiate Sand

  • In 2012, the Collegiate Sand volleyball program was considered an NCAA emerging sport with 16 schools participating this season. in 2012, around 300,000 girls in the country are playing sand volleyball. 
  • 2013 there are 24 schools that are already confirmed and hopefully 8 top schools in the country will soon join the program as well. The NCAA requires 40 participating teams for a sport to move from the Emerging Sports List to full NCAA sponsorship, which includes a championship. With the popularity of Sand Volleyball already at an all-time high, many believe this will not take much time at all for College scholarships become available in NCAA Divisions I and II. 
  • 2015 there are 50 schools.
What's the NCAA?
The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) is a semi-voluntary association of 1,281 institutions, conferences, organizations and individuals that organizes the athletic programs of many colleges and universities in the United States. Its headquarters is in Indianapolis, Indiana. 

In August 1973, the current three-division setup of Division I, Division II, and Division III was adopted by the NCAA membership in a special convention. Under NCAA rules, Division I and Division II schools can offer scholarships to athletes for playing a sport. Division III schools may not offer any athletic scholarships. Generally, larger schools compete in Division I and smaller schools in II and III.